VMKUForums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Do NOT get your hopes up yet

+8
RainBowE
awesomeMr.naruto
LittleSmartJazz
Sora-Star-Chan
AcePinkDancer
StarGirl215
Magic
Adam_rocks
12 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Do NOT get your hopes up yet Empty Do NOT get your hopes up yet

Post  Adam_rocks Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:05 pm

People are getting their hopes up to much on VMKU. Its still not 100% Legal.

Even if VMK was not on the "U.S Legal website" doesn't mean its still not copyrighted.

Disney DID copyright VMK. Please dont say I didn't research, because I must certainly did.

Some things I learned:

VMK is the distinct property of Disney, Disney does indeed own the copyright.

And here is what one EXPERIENCED software developer said:

Being a software developer myself, I've had keen interest in ownership rights for a couple of decades and keep up with the tides of public law with respect to copyrights and ownership... at least in some regard.

A work such as VMK has many legal facts about it; branding, sounds, source code, gameplay concepts, and so-on. Each of these are elements that have some sort of ownership claim. For example, the likenesses of the characters are artwork in the legal sense, and although they may be incorporated into the game, they are still works of art that in and of themselves can carry copyright and ownership protections.

So, therefore, it becomes a problem if one were to create their own work (a web game, in this case) and use these pieces of artwork without permission. A complete change of artwork would be necessary... an expensive proposition. It's not impossible... the owner has many options to allow the use of their creations; licensing, royalty agreements, or even agreements for royalty-free use. But, that is up to the creator of the work.